I am so hot for Feminist men

I am so hot for feminist men.

God, it’s ridiculous.

There is just something about a guy who actually sees your views as something not to be eye rolled out, or made fun of outright.  It is dead sexy to be considered as an actual intellectual equal.  It makes me do a little ‘hnnnnnnngh’ sound when I think about it.  I am so hot for any man who understands that there is a relevance to what I have to say and what I think about the experiences I’ve had.  It is so devastating attractive when I am viewed as a partner in crime (‘crime’ here meaning ‘sexy things’) and not as an object.

It makes me hot for them.  I want to shag guys who apply the Bedchel test to films.

In that age old (i.e. from about 2009) debate, ‘can men be feminists?’ All I can ever say is OF COURSE.  OF COURSE men of this generation are feminists.  They are the sons of working women- the telephonists and receptionists and university lecturers and all the rest.  They are the product of an age transformed by the women’s movement- not even the organised movement, just the basic idea that WOMEN ARE NOT PROPERTY.  I am big on that.

I am hot on men who do not consider me to be their property.

I am hot for men who are pro choice, and agree that in the abortion debate, the two genders are coming at it from very different perspectives and that, in the end, it is me who has to actually *have* an abortion.  I am very pleased when men say that women have more of a say in abortion policy.  I like men who don’t think it’s silly that I want to keep my name if I ever get married and don’t bullshit me about it being ‘nice for a family to have the same name!’  I am hot for men who understand that it’s not a battle and it’s not man VS woman.

I am very hot for it not being a battle.

I am hot for men who understand that periods are just a fact of my existence, and are nothing to be grossed out by.  I am attracted to sympathetic nods of solidarity when a week is lost to cramps and hysterical sobbing.  I am turned on by guys who  don’t think women are just naturally ‘more emotional’ when debating.  I am very, very hot for men who know women can be just as funny as other men.

I am hot for men who accept that they can’t tell me what to do with my uterus.

I am also very hot indeed on men who aren’t just saying things to impress me.  I am very into the idea of debating, of discussing and in being talked to like a grown up.  I don’t like guys who roll their eyes when I say ‘I’m a feminist’.  It does not make me hot for them when they scoff and go ‘of course I think women are equal- I’m just not a feminist.’ This is okay for them to say- There is hope for them.  In a culture of free speech, it is okay with being critical of feminism- heck, I have my own problems with some aspects of feminist theory under the big umberella of ideas that is ‘FEMINISM’ with a captial F.  It is okay for them to not call themselves feminist.

I am hot for respect.  I am well hot for good humour.

But I am so hot for men who say they are feminists.

I am so hot for feminist men.

_____________________________________________________________

Niamh ‘I am also hot for cardigans’ Keoghan

3 responses

  1. http://kateordiecomics.com/archive/get-it-girl/
    You are not alone.
    (I unfortunately do not get hot for feminist men, but I will like them very much as friends.)

  2. temporallyunstable | Reply

    Basic equality: Things more men need to be aware of. Beautiful article, and I couldn’t help noting how the sexual tones in here will quite probably gain that little bit extra attention to get more people to properly consider this. Wonderfully written piece :)

  3. […] Feminist men, as I have discussed elsewhere at length, men who respect me as a person and as an equal are rad.  I was being humourous […]

Leave a Reply

